Designated Bushfire Prone Area (BPA)

Polygon features identify designated Bushfire Prone Areas where specific bushfire building construction requirements apply. The municipal areas of Melbourne, Yarra, Maribyrnong, Moonee Valley, Darebin, Boroondara, Stonnington, Glen Eira, Moreland, Port Phillip and Bayside do not have any designated bushfire prone areas. The original boundaries were gazetted on 7 Sep 2011. Changes to the boundaries have been gazetted on 25 Oct 2012, 8 Oct 2013, 30 Dec 2013, 3 June 2014, 22 Oct 2014, 19 August 2015, 21 April 2016, 18 October 2016, 02 June 2017 and 06 November 2017.

Bushfire prone areas(BPA) of Victoria review 12, gazetted 16/10/2018. The BPA map depicts locations where new buildings, alterations and/or additions must meet the `bushfire prone area? requirements of the National Construction Code and a minimum Bushfire Attack Level (BAL) 12.5 construction standard (Section 192A Building Act 1993 ? Bushfire Prone Areas determination, and construction requirements of the Building Regulations 2018)

Refer to the following web links for information...

Interactive Map.

Data and Resources

Designated Bushfire Prone Area (BPA)

wms format

Use Order Resources to get access to spatial data in various formats and extents.

You are being asked to supply a valid email address, so we can notify you via email when your data is ready to download.

Additional information

Field Value
Date Published 2016-04-22
Date Updated 2018-12-31
Agency Department of Environment, Land, Water & Planning
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International
[Open Data]
Citation Copyright © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment, Land, Water & Planning 2019
Attribution Copyright © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment, Land, Water & Planning 2019
Data Temporal Coverage: 2011-09-08 to 2019-12-31
Geospatial Coverage 141,-39,150,-34
Geospatial Scale Various
Geospatial Accuracy N/A N/A
Full Metadata URL
Recent Downloads Count 20 (April 2016)